Draw me Close to You

I hear, “We won’t”
And fire’s flames arise in me
A ring of fire encircles like the day
Smoke filled my house because I
Forgot to open the flue
And the neighbor came running
Because, thank God, smoke
Goes in every direction
Something’s burning and I don’t think
It’s love

Then again it is exactly love
When lyrics that saved you
Drive a wedge between you
You pray Lord, draw me close to you
Because the house still stands
But the fumes linger
And wills and won’ts aren’t worth
Arguing about when I
Am close to You, and aren’t You
The keeper of the vineyard anyways

Last but not least, here’s our optional prompt for the day. Today, we’d like to challenge you to write a poem that is inspired by a piece of music, and that shares its title with that piece of music. Need an example? Here’s A. Van Jordan’s “Que Sera Sera” and Adrian Matejka’s “Soave Sia Il Vento.”

About Mary (tqhousecat)

I am married, and a mother of two grown children. I love Jesus and sharing my faith through written words. My poetry is on my blog and you can find some previous stories on Medium and linked-in. My focus is hope in Christ. My desire is that whoever reads this will be blessed, inspired, occasionally amused, kind, and patient to my growth in Christ as He conforms me to His image.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Draw me Close to You

  1. Frank Hubeny says:

    Good reminder that the Lord is the keeper of the vineyard.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.