Predictions, promises and possibilities

I can’t promise an apple a day
I can suggest a smile
I don’t like to greet the night
Without laughing first a while
And though I’m not a prophetess
Predictions like snow angels may melt away
A respite from my woes have often come
Wrapped in words that sing and sway

So what about a poem a day
A till that breaks and harrows
The rich soil of your brain
Where obsidian sits yet fallow
Just waiting to erupt
Gleams flicker
Translucent in your eyes
Might this make your spirit rise
Above the highest Alpines
As you breathe in the light
And discover new sight?
The panther awaits his prey
While the hyena laughs
In the tall grass
And gets the best of both

Linking with Linda Kruschke amd Paimt Chip Poetry.

“This week’s prompt is a call for your best predictions. Maybe you’ll come up with an educated guess or write based on what you’ve seen before. I predict that this group of paint chips will inspire some excellent poetry. I can’t wait to read what you have to write about jade, alpine, red flag, snow angel, rich soil, obsidian, and panther, or at least three of those words or phrases.”

With words like these who knows where you will go!

About Mary (tqhousecat)

I am married, and a mother of two grown children. I love Jesus and sharing my faith through written words. My poetry is on my blog and you can find some previous stories on Medium and linked-in. My focus is hope in Christ. My desire is that whoever reads this will be blessed, inspired, occasionally amused, kind, and patient to my growth in Christ as He conforms me to His image.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.