Keep Me Whole


Why paint me so another ages
Cloned in indigo and muted gray
No one knows me like the artist
Oscar proved it, did he not?

While I emote in garish overtones
Voracious, relentless, flaunting passion
Rampant romanticism
While etched in canvas a soul trembles
Paying consequence to denial

dversepoets.comTuesday we are exploring Gothic poetry.

“The emotions particularly invoked were that of awe, fear, wariness and terror, which contrasted sharply with the uplifting ones invoked by Neoclassical themes of art and emotions of happiness, longing, nostalgia, love and sorrow which were often found in mainstream Romanticism. The happier emotions in Gothic Literature are extreme such as elation and frenzied joy.

It is a genre which, through the supernatural, the fantastic and the remote, allows a discussion on everything that has been repressed. The challenge is to write a gothic poem exploring the question,

Which according to you are the deepest, darkest and most concealed of human emotions?”

I don’t think I followed the rules, but all I could think was “The Portrait of Dorian Gray.” It is all I ever read of him many years ago, and sticks with me still today.

I think Ocar Wilde described it best and maybe even lived in the wish of his only novel.

Perhaps the greatest thing we conceal is vulnerability which is maybe the darkest side of all emotions.

About Mary (tqhousecat)

I am married, and a mother of two grown children. I love Jesus and sharing my faith through written words. My poetry is on my blog and you can find some previous stories on Medium and linked-in. My focus is hope in Christ. My desire is that whoever reads this will be blessed, inspired, occasionally amused, kind, and patient to my growth in Christ as He conforms me to His image.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Keep Me Whole

  1. sanaarizvi says:

    This is incredibly poignant, Mary!💝 I love the way you have described vulnerability which is indeed one of the emotions we humans tend to conceal .. for fear of appearing weak. Especially moved by; “While I emote in garish overtones/Voracious, relentless, flaunting passion.”💝 Thank you so much for writing to the prompt.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. kim881 says:

    Fabulous, Mary! You’ve captured the longing to stay forever young in this poem and paid homage to Wilde’s story, one I can read again and again. I love the lines:
    ‘While I emote in garish overtones
    Voracious, relentless, flaunting passion
    Rampant romanticism
    While etched in canvas a soul trembles’.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Vanity is one of the dark forces that seem to bring darkness forth… Dorian Gray is a perfect example.

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.