Holy Spirit

I ask for wind and get rain
If I will the seasons it shall always be summer
And fruit will always be on the vine

I do not summon
He who graces me with life and words
To flaunt and goad
I sit in stillness and listen

Not for audible voice
For then you shall think me mad
But Spirit to spirit
He finds me

He’s that good and wise

dversepoets.comTuesday prompt. Speaking about the vatic voice. That muse, or whatever gives you inspiration to write.

I waited a day, and thought about how and who and what. The word muse originated from Greek mythology. The 9 daughters of Zues are known as muses. Well, I understand the context, and use the word quite often, but really have no true muse other than the Holy Spirit. And the process is not at my command or timetable, but quite the opposite.

About Mary (tqhousecat)

I am married, and a mother of two grown children. I love Jesus and sharing my faith through written words. My poetry is on my blog and you can find some previous stories on Medium and linked-in. My focus is hope in Christ. My desire is that whoever reads this will be blessed, inspired, occasionally amused, kind, and patient to my growth in Christ as He conforms me to His image.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Holy Spirit

  1. Frank Hubeny says:

    I like the communication Spirit to spirit. I also agree that the only true muse is the Holy Spirit.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. msjadeli says:

    Mary I love how you describe the process, in the afterword, but especially in the poem itself. Not easy to articulate but you did it.

    Like

  3. Pingback: Still – Holy Spirit – Poetry, Short Prose and Walking

  4. I would love to find that voice and I think it’s there in everyone that cares to listen to themselves.

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.