Winters Fest

Driving at dusk through the patchwork of snow and ice I feel both the warmth of my heater and the cold that my eyes absorb from the road ahead. We are one third our way through winter. I am already weary of wearing layer upon layer.

Suddenly the wind comes rushing in front of me, sweeping snow up from the ground and swirls her around in an ethereal dance. Once to the other side of the street, another follows. To the side a river runs parallel and lively ripples of current splash onto snow capped stones. I notice evergreen trees laden with snow are bowing their branches in reverence and gratitude, perhaps for being clothed, while barren trees show off their gallantry with ice that clings.

As I turn with the winding curve the sun casts its brilliant light on all, showing off a glittering performance. I smile and think, this is winter, it is not weary, it is celebrating. It is its own season. I should celebrate it also. Yes, it is freezing cold, but I can endure while it lives.

I see winter dance
A performance just for me
Season’s interlude

 

 

About Mary (tqhousecat)

I am married, and a mother of two grown children. I love Jesus and sharing my faith through written words. My poetry is on my blog and you can find some previous stories on Medium and linked-in. My focus is hope in Christ. My desire is that whoever reads this will be blessed, inspired, occasionally amused, kind, and patient to my growth in Christ as He conforms me to His image.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Winters Fest

  1. Singledust says:

    I love snow stories and this was beautifully composed

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.