Directionally Challenged

In the middle of her path, she saw a red, octagonal, sign, with the word STOP, and tiny, white, blinking lights around its perimeter, so she stopped.
No road ahead, left, or right, she sat, in silence, thinking.

“I guess turning back is always an option”, and she felt each word, dumped in front of her, delivered by a heavy sigh. Feet and wheels aren’t the only modes of transportation.

Knowing she never liked the word retreat but had, at times, fallen prey to its demands, she decided to turn her one option into an opportunity, for isn’t it just as easy to make a right choice as it is to make a wrong choice?

Just then, an eagle circled overhead.

Six-sentence story


“but they who wait for the LORD shall renew their strength; they shall mount up with wings like eagles; they shall run and not be weary; they shall walk and not faint.” (Isaiah 40:31, ESV)

“Then he said to me, “This is the word of the LORD to Zerubbabel: Not by might, nor by power, but by my Spirit, says the LORD of hosts.” (Zechariah 4:6, ESV)

“Who shall separate us from the love of Christ? Shall tribulation, or distress, or persecution, or famine, or nakedness, or danger, or sword? As it is written,
“For your sake we are being killed all the day long;
we are regarded as sheep to be slaughtered.”
No, in all these things we are more than conquerors through him who loved us.” (Romans 8:35-37., ESV)

About Mary (tqhousecat)

I am married, and a mother of two grown children. I love Jesus and sharing my faith through written words. My poetry is on my blog and you can find some previous stories on Medium and linked-in. My focus is hope in Christ. My desire is that whoever reads this will be blessed, inspired, occasionally amused, kind, and patient to my growth in Christ as He conforms me to His image.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Directionally Challenged

  1. Frank Hubeny says:

    May we mount up with wings like eagles.

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.