Walking Through the Years

Twinkle twinkle little toes
Soft shoes to keep from cold

Patent leather shiny black
Hear me coming, clack, clack, clack

Then quiet demeanor I remember
Mary Jane’s were soft and tender

The 60’s came, we turned a corner
Fears in me became the stronger

Black, white bucks were hard and bold
Go Go boots, stark and cold

One day I read of sandaled feet
That traveled on this earth to meet

All of us who’s feet were tired
Of covering up the path they mired

He washed me clean, t’was like a flood
No soap and towel, He used His blood

Today no matter the shoes I wear
My steps have purpose to declare

It’s not the shoes that make you whole
But the one who’s home is in your soul

Dversepoetspub.com
Prompt is A closet full of shoes. What comes to mind when you think of shoes?

About Mary (tqhousecat)

I am a wife and a mother of two grown children. Recently I have begun writing a couple of blogs. One poetry and one on hope. I only wish that whoever reads this will be blessed, inspired and occasionally amused. Soon to be added is another blog...writings on hope from a biblical perspective. Now it can be seen at purplepandasandotherphenomena.blogspot.com. please feel free to visit.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Walking Through the Years

  1. “Today no matter the shoes I wear
    My steps have purpose to declare”

    Truly if all feet had such purpose… !

    Liked by 1 person

  2. kim881 says:

    You took me on a walk into the past with:
    ‘Patent leather shiny black
    Hear me coming, clack, clack, clack’!
    I am still quite partial to soft, tender Mary Janes but my favourite footwear has to be boots.

    Like

  3. To me this is about getting free of all restraints that tether us… the shoes are one of those.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Freeing up poem, Mary. Love your last two lines.

    Like

Leave a Reply

