In Common With Birds

I stood, silently watching as the Ruby throated hummingbird jutted it’s bill in and out of the feeder. His wings going at a speed of 200 beats per second, he grabbed his sweet fare and darted off. That is what my summer vacations are like. A quick sashay gathering as much solace, pleasure and nourishment as I can before I settle in again to the pressures of day to day.

This summer I had the opportunity to see three of my four siblings, two of whom I rarely get to visit. One for five days, one for an hour (in an airport during a stop over), and one for a day and a half, I felt like the hummingbird, flitting, but not leaving me drained, but content. Light refreshments at close intervals sometimes do more good than heavy, sumptuous meals.

We are given wings
Not as birds who fly above
But from breath to breath

Linking this haibun to dversepoets.com where the prompt is to write on my summer vacation.

About Mary (tqhousecat)

I am a wife and a mother of two grown children. Recently I have begun writing a couple of blogs. One poetry and one on hope. I only wish that whoever reads this will be blessed, inspired and occasionally amused. Soon to be added is another blog...writings on hope from a biblical perspective. Now it can be seen at purplepandasandotherphenomena.blogspot.com. please feel free to visit.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to In Common With Birds

  1. Frank Hubeny says:

    I like the idea that our breaths are wings in the haiku.

    Like

  2. Love the comparison between the hummingbird and those precious meetings…. great writing.

    Like

  3. lillian says:

    Absolutely love this idea of comparison to the humming bird….and you sacheting through your summer. Truly enjoyed this — and the haiku as well. So glad you posted! Am a bit late to my reading….catching up before I go on to today’s Poetics at dVerse…so glad I read yours! 🙂

    Like

  4. kanzensakura says:

    Often times, sips are enough! I have about 25 hummers in my yard, each having staked out a feeder for its territory. I started off with 2 feeders and now I have five. I like this haibun a lot. What a great summer vacation.

    Like

  5. Grace says:

    I like the comparison to the busy hummingbirds ~ Sometimes family visits are best when kept light ~

    Like

Leave a Reply

