Circular Words

Lost, a poem I wrote

Now 30 years since

Seems a lifetime away

Read at his funeral

It should have been framed

Procrastination bid me wait

I was in the throes of disorder

Lost, a letter another wrote

On April Fool’s Day

And it caught a fool at the end

The wit was worth keeping

But that too, now just a wordless frame

remains and perhaps we were moving

How I wish I had both

Now, a lifetime later, a hobby, a call?

I never meant to write at all

Really, that poem, just a whim

But as embers fester and spark a flame

Words have been spreading

And who would ever suggest

That fire be set

By the one who’s letter I did forget

Never to retrieve again

But prose and poems live on still

Though many frames be empty

the engraving is on our hearts.

Prompt: 2 items lost, 2 items found. A fortuitous poem

 

 

About Mary (tqhousecat)

I am a wife and a mother of two grown children. Recently I have begun writing a couple of blogs. One poetry and one on hope. I only wish that whoever reads this will be blessed, inspired and occasionally amused. Soon to be added is another blog...writings on hope from a biblical perspective. Now it can be seen at purplepandasandotherphenomena.blogspot.com. please feel free to visit.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

