Enough

Arise my body, my small body, we have striven
Enough, and He is merciful; we are forgiven.
So why torture where there should exude peace
Past is over
We cannot undo
Future is distant
We cannot subdue
We have wrapped our tears in prayers
Time now to rest

-Today’s prompt…take the first line of any poem and go elsewhere with it. This first line is from “After Prayers, Lie Cold” by C.S. Lewis

About Mary (tqhousecat)

I am a wife and a mother of two grown children. Recently I have begun writing a couple of blogs. One poetry and one on hope. I only wish that whoever reads this will be blessed, inspired and occasionally amused. Soon to be added is another blog...writings on hope from a biblical perspective. Now it can be seen at purplepandasandotherphenomena.blogspot.com. please feel free to visit.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Enough

  1. Karin Joy Passmore says:

    Hi Mary, This one works well and is effective. Sometimes it’s better to stay with one pronoun rather than to switch around from me to we to you… Here you are referring to yourself but you and your body equal we. So 1. I think it’s a great poem. 2. In general it’s effective to stay with one pronoun. For example: the poem is about you, or about us/we. When a writer uses them self as the subject then switches to us/we it will sound preachy. There is a more powerful effect when the reader draws his own conclusion. Let me know your thoughts, ~K~

    Like

    • Karin,
      Re first line is CS Lewis. The rest is mine. This is from a prompt. I took it as he was addressing his body as separate from is soul. Thus, my becomes we. I continued in that stream.

      Like

Leave a Reply

