My promises so often are like echoes of a dream,

And when I return to my senses, it’s not what it had seemed, and I am lost,

Cause I don’t know what I’m vowing, can’t tell what I am sowing,

The seeds that I am planting, I don’t see what they are growing

All I know is that I’m trusting  that you will override

Any folly in my thinking, may it be deception, or pride

And I can’t pick up the pieces that have broken, and I can’t take back the words that I have spoken, and my words are like shooting stars exploding into darkness and falling to the ground.

Your word remains faithful through all my doubt and questions,

Your promise was made before the world without my circumspection.

You see what I can’t keep, you see what has been torn, but you’re not moved,

For you know before I promise that you have kept your word

And I can’t pick up the pieces that have broken, and I can’t take back the words that I have spoken, and my words are like shooting stars exploding into darkness and falling to the ground.

About Mary (tqhousecat)

I am a wife and a mother of two grown children. Recently I have begun writing a couple of blogs. One poetry and one on hope. I only wish that whoever reads this will be blessed, inspired and occasionally amused. Soon to be added is another blog...writings on hope from a biblical perspective. Now it can be seen at purplepandasandotherphenomena.blogspot.com. please feel free to visit.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

